Ingthor

We need to talk about the summer event

Posted (edited)

Hello! I have been playing for the last 3 months in the server, and it brings an amazing experience through a functional Ragnarok content and expanding the end game with monster hunter. MH is so unique that I thought being part of official content along the shadow equipment when I first heard of it. Official Ragnarok lacks a decent endgame PvE content. When we get close to endgame gear, the official PvE content poses no challenge. MH covers this deficiency and it is brilliant. Then, we have the another biggest custom content, the summer event.

The summer event is a unique experience in terms of Ragnarok, and shows that developers are very skilled. The MH drops from summer land are also handy. Sadly, my compliments are over here. So I made a list for the criticism.

1) Different of MH, summer event doesn't cover any deficiency of Ragnarok content. Summer event is a parallel and inefficient casual farming. When I say parallel, I want to say that doesn't improve economy by generating important goods for selling (i.e.: gears and consumables). And inefficient because the zenny/hours farming event content is one of the worst in the game. Instead, we are stuck in the pointless farm for at least 4 event rounds (GL getting 11k coins in 4 runs, I used to take more than that) to fulfill the weeklies and get BSB. And I believe that 90% or more of the players are doing the event just for the BSB, not because they enjoy it. I realized that when I begin doing the Summer Event weeklies, I felt much less likely to farm elsewhere, and much less stimulated to play the game in a overall. Ragnarok essence is closed linked to farming, and the summer event seems very poor in this sense.